Board of Directors

Board of Directors 2017 Election Results Announced

URISA Board of Directors 2017-2018

URISA  is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors – unpaid volunteers who are elected by the URISA membership to serve three-year terms. In addition, the chair of the Chapter Advisory Board participates as a non-voting member of the Board. Elections take place each summer and board terms begin at the close of the GIS-Pro annual conference.

The Board communicates regularly via email and holds a monthly conference call to conduct business. The Board meets in person during one or two weekends each year in addition to meetings before and after the GIS-Pro annual conference. 

Executive Committee:


Teresa Townsend, AICP
Planning Communities
Raleigh, North Carolina

Board Liaison to Vanguard Cabinet

(Board Term 2017-2019)


Kim McDonough, GISP
Tennessee Department of Transportation
Nashville, Tennessee

Chair of Strategic Planning Committee
Board Liaison to GIS Management Institute

(Board Term 2018-2020)

Immediate Past-President:

Tripp Corbin, GISP 
eGIS Associates, Inc 
Dacula, Georgia
Board Liaison to Chapter Advisory Board

(Board Term 2016-2018)



Stephen Berry, GISP 
Clark County Consortium for GIS
Winchester, Kentucky

Strategic Planning Committee, 
Finance Committee
Board Liaison to GISCorps

(Board Term 2016-2018)


Bryan Townsend, GISP 
GIS Manager
York County
York, SC

(Board Term 2018-2020)


James Armstrong, AICP, GISP 

Spatial Relationships, LLC
Boston, Massachusetts

Board Liaison to Finance Committee, GISCI

(Board Term 2017-2019)


Keri Brennan, GISP

Michael Baker International
Indianapolis, Indiana

Board Liaison to URISA GIS
Leadership Academy
and Annual Conference Committees
and NextGen 911 Task Force

(Board Term 2016-2018)

Lynn Dupont, GISP, ASLA 

Regional Planning Commission
New Orleans, Louisiana

Strategic Planning Committee
Board Liaison to Professional
Education Materials Committee

(Board Term 2018-2020)

Corey Halford, GISP

City of Airdrie
Airdrie, Alberta Canada

Board Liaison to International Task Force
and ESIG Awards Review Committee

 (Board Term 2016-2018)

Brent Jones, PLS
Vienna, Virginia

Board Liaison to
Policy Advisory and Marketing Committees

(Board Term 2017-2019)


Robert Kirkman, GISP
Portland, Oregon

Strategic Planning Committee
Board Liaison to Address Standards
Working Group

(Board Term 2017-2019)



Michael (Glenn) O'Grady, GISP 
Planning Commission Chairman
City of Encinitas, CA

Policy Advisory Committee Chair
Representative to
Coalition of Geospatial Organizations


Non-Voting Board Member
Chapter Advisory Board Chair:

Cindy Post, GISP
City of Leduc
Leduc, Alberta

Representing URISA Alberta

Organizational Structure - adopted October 2015, amended October 2017

URISA Bylaws - adopted October 2015

Policy Manual - adopted October 2015, amended October 2017

URISA Committees - Each committee’s purpose and scope; membership and chairmanship; and committee-specific policies and procedures are included.

 Primary Committee Level Appointments:

  • Whistleblower Policy Compliance Office: Mark Sievers
  • GIS Management Institute Chair: Rebecca Somers
  • GISCorps Chair: German Whitley
  • Marketing Committee Chair: Amanda Taub 
  • Leadership Academy Chair: Ashley Hitt
  • Professional Education Materials Chair: Kevin Mickey
  • Professional Practice Committee Chair: Rebecca Somers
  • Policy Advisory Committee: Glenn O'Grady
  • Special Awards Chair: Tripp Corbin
  • ESIG Awards Chair: Duncan Rowe
  • Chapter Advisory Board Chair: Cindy Post
  • Chapter Advisory Board Vice Chair: Tom Fisher/Amy Esnard
  • Leadership Development Chair: Tripp Corbin
  • Annual Conference Chair: Alex Hepp
  • Annual Conference Program Chair: John Nolte
  • Annual Conference Associate Program Chair: Ashley Hitt
  • GIS/CAMA Technologies Conference Chair: Dan Cypert
  • GIS/CAMA Technologies Program Chair: Matt Bryant
  • International Task Force: Valrie Grant
  • NextGen 911 Task Force: Keri Brennan

Other Board Appointments

  • GIS Certification Institute: Martin Roche and Allen Ibaugh
  • Coalition of Geospatial Organizations: Glenn O'Grady (Delegate) and Ed Wells (Alternate)
  • FGDC Address Subcommittee: Ed Wells, Martha Wells, and Sara Yurman

Liaison Relationships:

  • American Planning Association: Teresa Townsend
  • National States Geographic Information Council: Cy Smith
  • International Association of Assessing Officers: Brent Jones
  • Property Records Industry Association: Peirce Eichelberger
  • National Association of Counties: Thomas Conry

URISA Headquarters employs a professional staff to handle the administrative affairs of the Association. Our staff members are available to assist you weekdays from 8:30am-5:00pm, central time. Please call, fax or email if they may be of any assistance.

Click here to send E-mail to the URISA headquarters' staff.

Applied Ecology
Bad Elf
Fox Temple
GeoTech Vision
Hexagon Geospatial
Michael Baker
Planning Communities
Spatial Relationships
TGA inc.
URISA Logo Store
URISA Partners
Valtus Imagery