URISA Board of Directors 2017-2018

URISA  is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors – unpaid volunteers who are elected by the URISA membership to serve three-year terms. In addition, the chair of the Chapter Advisory Board participates as a non-voting member of the Board. Elections take place each summer and board terms begin at the close of the GIS-Pro annual conference.

Governing Documents:

The Board communicates regularly via email and holds a monthly conference call to conduct business. The Board meets in person during one or two weekends each year in addition to meetings before and after the GIS-Pro annual conference. 

Executive Committee

PresidentTeresa Townsend, AICP
Planning Communities, Raleigh, North Carolina
Board Liaison to Vanguard Cabinet
(Board Term 2017-2019)

President-ElectKim McDonough, GISP
Tennessee Department of Transportation, Nashville, Tennessee
Chair of Strategic Planning Committee; Board Liaison to GIS Management Institute
(Board Term 2018-2020)

Immediate Past-PresidentTripp Corbin, GISP 
eGIS Associates, Inc, Dacula, Georgia
Board Liaison to Chapter Advisory Board
(Board Term 2016-2018)

Treasurer: Stephen Berry, GISP 
Clark County Consortium for GIS, Winchester, Kentucky
Strategic Planning Committee, Finance Committee; Board Liaison to GISCorps
(Board Term 2016-2018)

SecretaryBryan Townsend, GISP 
York County, York, SC
(Board Term 2018-2020)


James Armstrong, AICP, GISP 
Spatial Relationships, LLC, Boston, Massachusetts
Board Liaison to Finance Committee, GISCI
(Board Term 2017-2019)


Keri Brennan, GISP
Michael Baker International, Indianapolis, Indiana
Board Liaison to URISA GIS Leadership Academy, Annual Conference Committee, and NextGen 911 Task Force
(Board Term 2016-2018)

Lynn Dupont, GISP, ASLA 
Regional Planning Commission, New Orleans, Louisiana
Strategic Planning Committee; Board Liaison to Professional  Education Committee
(Board Term 2018-2020)

Corey Halford, GISP
City of Airdrie, Airdrie, Alberta Canada
Board Liaison to International Task Force and ESIG Awards Review Committee
 (Board Term 2016-2018)

Brent Jones, PLS
Esri - Vienna, Virginia
Board Liaison to Policy Advisory and Marketing Committees
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Robert Kirkman, GISP
Metro- Portland, Oregon
Strategic Planning Committee; Board Liaison to Address Standards  Working Group
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Michael (Glenn) O'Grady, GISP 
Planning Commission Chairman, City of Encinitas, CA
Policy Advisory Committee Chair; Representative to  Coalition of Geospatial Organizations

Non-Voting Board Member / Chapter Advisory Board Chair: 
Cindy Post, GISP
City of Leduc - Leduc, Alberta
Representing URISA Alberta


Primary Committee Level Appointments:

  • Whistleblower Policy Compliance Office: Mark Sievers
  • GIS Management Institute Chair: Rebecca Somers
  • GISCorps Chair: German Whitley
  • Marketing Committee Chair: Amanda Taub 
  • Leadership Academy Chair: Ashley Hitt
  • Professional Education Committee Chair: Kevin Mickey
  • Professional Practice Committee Chair: Rebecca Somers
  • Policy Advisory Committee: Glenn O'Grady
  • Special Awards Chair: Tripp Corbin
  • ESIG Awards Chair: Duncan Rowe
  • Chapter Advisory Board Chair: Cindy Post
  • Chapter Advisory Board Vice Chair: Tom Fisher/Amy Esnard
  • Leadership Development Chair: Tripp Corbin
  • Annual Conference Chair: Alex Hepp
  • Annual Conference Program Chair: John Nolte
  • Annual Conference Associate Program Chair: Ashley Hitt
  • GIS/CAMA Technologies Conference Chair: Dan Cypert
  • GIS/CAMA Technologies Program Chair: Matt Bryant
  • International Task Force: Valrie Grant
  • NextGen 911 Task Force: Keri Brennan

Other Board Appointments:

  • GIS Certification Institute: Martin Roche and Allen Ibaugh
  • Coalition of Geospatial Organizations: Glenn O'Grady (Delegate) and Ed Wells (Alternate)
  • FGDC Address Subcommittee: Ed Wells, Martha Wells, and Sara Yurman

Liaison Relationships:

  • American Planning Association: Teresa Townsend
  • National States Geographic Information Council: Cy Smith
  • International Association of Assessing Officers: Brent Jones
  • Property Records Industry Association: Peirce Eichelberger
  • National Association of Counties: Thomas Conry



URISA Headquarters employs a professional staff to handle the administrative affairs of the Association. Our staff members are available to assist you weekdays from 8:30am-5:00pm, central time. Please call, fax or email if they may be of any assistance.

Click here info@urisa.org to send E-mail to the URISA headquarters' staff.

Applied Ecology
Bad Elf
Fox Temple
GeoTech Vision
Hexagon Geospatial
Michael Baker
Planning Communities
Spatial Relationships
TGA inc.
URISA Logo Store
URISA Partners
Valtus Imagery