+ (847) 824-6300

URISA Leadership

URISA  is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors – unpaid volunteers who are elected by the URISA membership to serve three-year terms. In addition, the chair of the Chapter Advisory Board participates as a non-voting member of the Board. Elections take place each summer and board terms begin at the close of the GIS-Pro annual conference.

Governing Documents:

The Board communicates regularly via email and holds a monthly conference call to conduct business. The Board meets in person during one or two weekends each year in addition to meetings before and after the GIS-Pro annual conference. 

2019 Election Results Announced

PresidentKim McDonough, GISP
Email Kim
Tennessee Department of Transportation, Nashville, Tennessee
Board Liaison to Vanguard Cabinet
(Board Term 2018-2020)


President-ElectKeri Brennan, GISP
Michael Baker International, Indianapolis, Indiana
Board Liaison to URISA GIS Leadership Academy and NextGen 911 Task Force
(Board Term 2019-2021)

Immediate Past-PresidentTeresa Townsend, AICP
Planning Communities, Raleigh, North Carolina
Chair of Leadership Development and Special Awards Committees
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Treasurer: Douglas M. AdamsGISP, ITIL
Department of Public Works, Baltimore County, Baltimore, Maryland
Chair of Finance Committee; Board Liaison to ESIG Review Committee
(Board Term 2019-2021)

SecretaryBryan Townsend, GISP 
York County, York, SC
Chair of Core Documents Committee and Board Liaison to GIS Management Institute
(Board Term 2018-2020)


James Armstrong, AICP, GISP 
Spatial Relationships, LLC, Boston, Massachusetts
Board Liaison to Finance Committee
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Lynn Dupont, GISP, ASLA 
Regional Planning Commission, New Orleans, Louisiana
Strategic Planning Committee; Board Liaison to Professional  Education Committee
(Board Term 2018-2020) 

Brent Jones, PLS
Esri - Vienna, Virginia
Board Liaison to Policy Advisory  Committee
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Robert Kirkman, GISP
Metro- Portland, Oregon
Strategic Planning Committee; Board Liaison to GIS Management Institute and Address Standards  Working Group
(Board Term 2017-2019)

Michael (Glenn) O'Grady, GISP 
Planning Commission Chairman, City of Encinitas, CA
Policy Advisory Committee Chair; Observer to  Coalition of Geospatial Organizations
(Board Term 2018-2020)

Tammy Peterson
Solv3D Inc., Calgary, Alberta Canada 
Board Liaison to Marketing Committee and International Task Force
(Board Term 2019-2021)

Wendy PeloquinGISP
GISinc., Jacksonville, Florida
Strategic Planning Committee, Board Liaison to Annual Conference Committee
(Board Term 2019-2021)


Non-Voting Board Member / Chapter Advisory Board Chair: 
Tom Fisher, GISP
Cuyahoga County, Cleveland, Ohio
Representing Ohio URISA

Primary Committee Level Appointments:

  • Whistleblower Policy Compliance Office: Mark Sievers
  • GIS Management Institute Chair: Rebecca Somers
  • GISCorps Chair: Carol Kraemer 
  • Marketing Committee Chair: Christina Boggs-Chavira 
  • GIS Leadership Academy Chair: Carl Anderson
  • Professional Education Committee Chair: Kevin Mickey
    • Co-Chair: Xan Fredericks
  • Policy Advisory Committee: Glenn O'Grady
  • Vanguard Cabinet: Rachel Rodriguez
  • Vanguard Cabinet Steering Committee: Wendy Peloquin
  • Special Awards Chair: Teresa Townsend
  • ESIG Awards Chair: Dr. Gary Hunter
  • Chapter Development and Relations Council: Tom Fisher
    • Chapter Advisory Board Vice Chair: Wayne Brewer
  • Leadership Development Chair: Teresa Townsend
  • Annual Conference Chair: John Nolte
    • Annual Conference Program Chair: Ashley Hitt
    • Annual Conference Associate Program Chair: Judy Colby-George
  • GIS/CAMA Technologies Conference Chair: Matt Bryant (2019)
  • International Task Force: Vacant
  • NextGen 911 Task Force Chair : Kathrine Cargo
  • Community Resiliency Task Force Chair: Kevin Mickey
  • GIS in Social Equity & Justice Workgroup Chair: Judy Colby-George

Other Board Appointments:

  • GIS Certification Institute: Martin Roche and Allen Ibaugh
  • Coalition of Geospatial Organizations:  Ed Wells (2019 Delegate), Robb Kirkman (2019 Alternate), Glenn O'Grady (2019 Observer)
  • FGDC Address Subcommittee: Ed Wells, Martha Wells, and Sara Yurman

Liaison Relationships:

  • American Planning Association: Teresa Townsend
  • National States Geographic Information Council: Tammy Peterson
  • International Association of Assessing Officers: Brent Jones
  • Property Records Industry Association: Peirce Eichelberger
  • National Association of Counties:


URISA Headquarters employs a professional staff to handle the administrative affairs of the Association. Our staff members are available to assist you weekdays from 8:30am-5:00pm, central time. Please call, fax or email if they may be of any assistance.

Click here info@urisa.org to send E-mail to the URISA headquarters' staff.

URISA ©2017. Website by Accrisoft