+ (847) 824-6300

2020 URISA Board Election Results Announced

Published Tuesday, August 11, 2020 7:00 am

URISA is pleased to announce the results of its 2020 URISA Board of Directors’ election. Brent Jones will serve in the position of President-Elect and Kathryn Brewer, Xan Fredericks, and Steve Steinberg will serve as Directors. They will all begin their three-year terms at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2020 which will be presented virtually this year.

Brent Jones, PE, PLS, Global Manager, Land Records/Cadastre, Esri, Vienna Virginia

"I am honored to serve URISA as President-Elect. URISA has a long and storied history of delivering exemplary conferences and educational opportunities as well as important guidance and significant support for geospatial professionals’ careers.

URISA has been a model organization with a unique ability to deliver a dynamic inclusive networking environment.  In these difficult times, URISA has a renewed commitment to be inclusive with networking and volunteer opportunities at all levels of the organization.

With such rapidly-changing technology, URISA has been a model, stable, ongoing voice with policy issues keeping members informed with pertinent information on issues facing GIS professionals.  It has been the go-to organization for those beginning their GIS careers with limitless opportunities to contribute as part of the award-winning Vanguard Cabinet. 

I look forward to contributing to the growing, committed URISA community of GIS professionals."

Brent will serve as President-Elect for one year and his term as President will begin at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2021.

Newly-elected URISA Board of Directors:


Kathryn Brewer, GISP
Principal/GIS Project Manager
Spatial Relationships LLC
Boston Massachusetts 


Xan Fredericks, GISP
Lidar Coordinator/Associate National Map Liaison
US Geological Survey
St Petersburg, Florida


Steven J. Steinberg, Ph.D., MPA, GISP
Geographic Information Officer (GIO)
County of Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

Kevin Mickey was elected by the membership as President-Elect last year and will begin his term as President of URISA at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2020. Keri Brennan will become Immediate Past-President at that time.

Kevin Mickey, GISP
The Polis Center-IUPUI
Indianapolis, Indiana

Keri Brennan, GISP, ENP
Benchmark Geospatial
Indianapolis, Indiana

At the close of GIS-Pro 2020, the terms of service for these URISA Board members will conclude and we thank them all, in advance, for their amazing dedication and service to URISA:

Immediate Past-President
Kim McDonough, GISP
Tennessee Department of Transportation
Nashville, Tennessee

Board Secretary
Bryan Townsend, GISP 
York County
York, South Carolina

Lynn Dupont, GISP, ASLA 
Regional Planning Commission
New Orleans, Louisiana

Michael (Glenn) O'Grady, GISP 
Planning Commission Chairman (Retired) 
City of Encinitas, California


URISA ©2017. Website by Accrisoft